Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

September 28, 2021

The Honorable Miguel Cardona, Ed.D Secretary U.S. Department of Education 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20202

Dear Secretary Cardona:

We write to urge the Department of Education to update its Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program to ensure qualifying California and Texas physicians can receive federal loan forgiveness consistent with those in the rest of the country during the Department's upcoming negotiated rulemaking process. Congress established the PSLF program to incentivize people with student debt, especially doctors, to enter high-demand fields in the public sector, and the pandemic has shown the need for frontline health care workers is more important than ever.

When the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program was implemented in 2008, it was inadvertently narrowed to preclude California and Texas physicians who treat patients in private, nonprofit community hospitals, children's hospitals, and rural hospitals from participating because those states prohibit nonprofit and public hospitals from directly employing doctors. The narrow regulation places California and Texas at a severe disadvantage in recruiting new physicians and harms patient access to care in our underserved communities.

The House Appropriations Committee recently included report language in the Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies bill urging the Department to remediate this regulatory oversight through negotiated rulemaking this year. In the 116th Congress, a bill fixing this technical error was included in various House legislative packages. However, it remains an unresolved error that must be addressed.

We urge you to update the PSLF regulations consistent with the statute and clarify that physicians who are currently prohibited from being employed directly by non-profit hospitals or other health care facilities are indeed eligible for loan forgiveness. Such clarification would put physicians in California and Texas on a level playing field with those in other states, which would help alleviate physician shortages in underserved areas. Those of us who voted for the legislation never contemplated that California and Texas physicians would be excluded from the program. We believe Congress intended all qualifying physicians who work in a public service non-profit hospital to be eligible.

We thank you for your consideration and look forward to working with you on this important issue.

Sincerely,

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

John Cornyn United States Senator

Jay/Obernolte Member of Congress

WIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Van Taylor Member of Congress

lex Padilla

United States Senator

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

Bar

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

ardence long

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

(hu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Schuis Com

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Lemy Cuellas

robar

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Malc

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Pat Fallon

Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

munenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Mike Garcia Member of Congress

Member of Congress

1. Juis Sui

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

nmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

ben

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Kay Granger Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

JackHypa

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

W. Iren

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

dwar

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Don's Matsu

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney

tand

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

nmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

unde J. >

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

wellinge

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

ich Shonper

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Norma & Toneo

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Vargos Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey

Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

CC: Eloy Ortiz Oakley, Special Adviser